Performance: Notes from Clyfford Still – Clyfford Still Museum



"20 Works in 20 Minutes," November, 2016. Image courtesy Nathan Hall

Performance: Notes from Clyfford Still

Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 7–7:30 pm
Export to: iCal, Google

Category: ,

  • This event has passed.

Commissioned by the Denver chamber group Playground Ensemble, Notes from Clyfford Still is a new work by composer Nathan Hall. Using texts and quotes from Still’s personal notebooks and correspondence, Hall paints a musical portrait of the artist showing not only his passionate and fiercely independent personality but also his moments of uncertainty, introspection, and tenderness.  As a companion piece to Hall’s recent 20 Works in 20 Minutes (performed in the Museum’s galleries in November of 2016), Notes from Clyfford Still features selections that interpret Clyfford Still’s works on paper and a new work for solo cello performed by Richard von Foerster.

Now in its 11th season, Playground Ensemble is Denver’s premiere chamber music organization and showcases adventurous new music from Colorado and beyond through concerts, education curricula, and creative collaborations.

Clyfford Still Museum
Lanny and Sharon Martin Galleries
Free | No registration required

Close ×
Denver’s collection. Online and open to all.

Welcome to our new online collection of 2,000+ works of art.

Enjoy full-screen viewing, deep-zoom resolution, and a slow-looking tool with every object.

We’ve also launched our archival research database with 1,900+ items.

Learn more here.